Filters

Filtering Options

Filters give users the ability to narrow down and focus on specific information within a view. All views within Essembi contain the filtering option.

Ad-Hoc Filtering

Users can click on the filter option within a view to launch the filtering settings form. The options within the form are as follows:

Building Filtering Conditions

Users can build up filtering conditions by selecting the "Add Filter" option. When creating a filter you have three field that need to be populated:

  • Field: Select any field available in the data model to filter by.
  • Condition: The condition options are built up based on the field type selected. Special filtering options include:
    • Assigned to Me: When the field type is a user field, specify if the record should be assigned to the current user.
    • Assigned to My Team: When the field type is a user field, specify if the record should be assigned to the current user's team.
  • Value: Select the value condition to apply to the filter. For record reference, multi-select and user fields, the user will have the ability to select options from the drop down list using check boxes.

Users have the option to make these filters match all, any or none of the defined filters using the drop down in the initial sentence.

Modifying Filter Conditions

Users can hover over the filter condition to activate both the delete and modify buttons to make changes to the individual filter condition as needed.

Filtering Button Options

  • Add Filter: Add a new filter definition.
  • Save Filters: Saves the filters applied for future use directly from the view or for use as the default view filter. Users have the option to assign the view a name and then choose if they want to make the filter available for all users or just their individual user.
  • Clear Filters: Removes all the defined filters.

User and Team Filters

The filter has options for filtering by user or team. The user filter finds records that contain the selected user where the user is marked as "Use as Record's Assigned To User". The team filter finds records that are assigned to users within a team matching the same condition.

Saved Filters

Saved filters are a powerful tool for quickly changing what data is shown within a defined view. The process for creating a saved filter was outlined above. All saved filters are available across all views that utilize the same data model.

Creating Saved Filters

Filters can be saved for "All Users" or "Myself", which just saves it for your individual users. Role-based user security exists to define which teams can save filters for all users.

Using Saved Filters

The saved filter's name that is applied to a view is shown to the right of the filter icon so that users easily know what filter is applied to a given view. To change what saved filter is applied, users can select the drop down button on the right side of the filtering button to see all available saved filters.

Deleting Saved Filters

Users can delete saved filters by selecting the delete button in the saved filters drop down directly on the view.

Default View Filters

All views have the ability to set a saved filter as the default filter that is applied within the view.

Individual users can override the view's default by selecting the checkbox for "Set as my default filter for this view" option in the saved filter drop down.

Back to help